Vinyl? Check! #45: Closer to Charro

November 5, 2009

I must admit when I pulled this album from the shelves, I had low expectations on how this would sound. I am very much a Salsoul fan, but recalled how loony Charo was on those old Love Boat shows. When the first song, Dance a Little Bit Closer, begins and I hear Charo singing, in a more reserved mode than her usual over the top persona, over a classic Vincent Montana Jr production I got excited! At the 3:00 mark Vincent takes over with a killer virtuoso vibraharp solo, yet sadly this one song is the high point of the 10 track album, although there are 2 more songs that are listenable.

Charo and the Salsoul Orchestra – Dance a Little Bit Closer
Leave a Reply

